Dependency properties rant

19May10

– Update:
I ran into these issues when testing the activity classes outside of a workflow runtime context. It turns out that there is more to this than I thought. Once running inside of CRM we don’t have the name collision issue. However, I wasn’t able to put common properties in a superclass, so apparently trying to test workflows outside of CRM only works in certain cases.

When I first looked at Windows Workflow Foundation and WPF back when .net 3.0 hit RTM I thought that dependency properties were confusing. Or at the very least over-complex. Probably both. As I looked further into WPF and saw the XAML magic that they enabled I guess I eased up a little bit. I thought I understood them pretty fully until today when I was writing a suite of workflow activities for MS CRM.

My development work was moving along swimmingly, and the test cases of my first activity were passing with flying colors. As I started in on testing the rest of the activities I ran into some issues.

I got the following runtime error following the successful run of the tests on the first activity and before the second:

Unhandled Exception: System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'Altai.Workflow.ContractActivity' threw an exception. ---> System.InvalidOperationException: DependencyProperty 'FtpPassword' could not be registered.  A property with the same name already exists for type 'Altai.Workflow.VendorActivity'.
   at System.Workflow.ComponentModel.DependencyProperty.ValidateAndRegister(String name, Type propertyType, Type ownerType, PropertyMetadata defaultMetadata, Type validatorType, Boolean isRegistered)
Since the dependency property boilerplate code is so verbose, I used codegen to spit out all of the properties that I needed. I figured I made a mistake when running my codegen tool and specified the same type name for the properties on both of the activity classes. I double checked everything and it turned out that everything looked fine. On a hunch I changed the names given to the properties so that they were unique and the error was replaced by a new error:
Unhandled Exception: System.TypeInitializationException: The type initializer for 'Altai.Workflow.VendorActivity' threw an exception. ---> System.ArgumentException: Type 'Altai.Workflow.VendorActivity' does not define a static dependency property with name 'PVAFtpPasswordProperty'.
So it looks like the properties are looked up by the string name alone. This surprised me since we give the .net type when we register the property. Really I don’t know what Microsoft was thinking with this one. Not only are dependency properties globally registered using a static registry, they don’t use the registered type to disambiguate potential conflicts in field names.
So to restate my displeasure here, not only are we referencing the registered properties using a string and ignoring the type info provided, we are doing so lazily at runtime when the type initializers for the class are running. This is one of those cases where type safety is just an illusion, and really only serves to trip us up while simultaneously providing a false sense of security.
No Responses Yet to “Dependency properties rant”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

